Shatter Me series

I’m 1/3 of the way through the last book in the Shatter Me series. I listened to the first one and have read the second and third as ebooks. Maybe it was the audio format, but I really loved the first book. The mystery that surrounded the main character, even as far as her name, was intriguing. And as much as I like Juliette, the love triangle has become tedious. I’m not a fan of people keeping their emotions to themselves to spare another’s feelings, all along the while allowing themselves to be shattered (pun intended). This happened a lot in the City of Bones series. I understand teenagers aren’t always honest and are often afraid, but this is a trope of YA lit that drives me nuts. It’s like forced drama. Dystopian is dramatic enough. There’s no need to throw in complicated love triangles in there, too. Juliette is showing some backbone and has really grown as a character, so I’m hoping her communication skills also progress. But the whole “there’s so much I want to tell you, but can’t because you’ll hate me” concept is so so old.

Leave a Reply

