City of Saints and Madmen- 2nd story

I really enjoyed the first story (scroll down for review). It left me guessing and I was definitely entertained. This second story wasn’t as good. There are footnotes…. a lot of footnotes. And they are funny, don’t get me wrong. But I found the volume tedious. I kept stopping and starting the story because there were just so many. The story itself was so so. The history of the city just doesn’t intrigue me. Well written and very creative, but just not my thing. The second half got better when we learned about the Silence. And let me tell you, I’m not sure I will eat mushrooms ever again after this book. But I will continue on to the third story, which I have heard is excellent. Here’s hoping so.

Leave a Reply

