Attachments (and Rainbow Rowell in general)

I have now read everything Rainbow Rowell has written. And I only started in May. My first book was Eleanor and Park. I loved it. Love doesn’t even begin to explain. I giggled and blushed and cheered for my favorite couple to get together.

Then came Fangirl. I just can’t even explain how much I loved this book. It was my favorite book of 2015. The main character, Cath, spoke to me. I could be her, albeit a much older version of her, but I get her. And Levi. Levi. Levi. Levi. Best male character I’ve read in a long time. I listened to this book. Whoever does the audio version is fantastic. But I mostly listened early in the morning while I was walking in my neighborhood. Again, giggling and blushing. I hate mornings, but I couldn’t wait to get up every day just to listen to Cath, emergency Kanye dance parties, Simon and Baz, and Levi. Oh, Levi.

Next was Landline. Again, an audio book with the same reader. Her voice is mesmerizing. Again, I loved it, however, it is my least favorite of the RR books, if I have to rank them. I just was so sad for most of the book while Georgie and Neil (or is it Neal…one of the benefits of having the book in front of you…character names are spelled) were apart. I was ecstatic when Cath and Levi made a surprise appearance at the end, and overall the book was great, but it stressed me out a bit with the separation.

Next was Carry On. I couldn’t wait for this book to come out. The concept was so fabulous. I’m not one for fanfic, but how could I not spend several hundred pages with Simon and Baz. And this book was perfectly written. It’s nearly impossible to enter a series with the last book, but we did. And it was spectacular. I really want a Simon and Baz tshirt. Alas, I’ve never seen one.

My goal for 2016 is to finish up authors and series that I started. So, I had to get to Attachments. And once again, LOVE LOVE. The format was unique and kept me hooked. The characters, even though we don’t really meet two of them personally, have so much spirit they jump off the page. And Lincoln. My gosh. RR can write a leading man. And her books are just so damn sweet. They aren’t gushy stupid romance books. But they are sweet and loving and gentle. And I love them. I’m hooked. I will read every book she published. Can’t wait for the next one!

Leave a Reply

