Save Queen of Sheba

In my online book club, we have been having some great book discussions. One was about books from our childhood that we remember, had an impact, reread, etc. Mine were Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume books, RL Stine, Christopher Pike, Sweet Valley High, and VC Andrews. There were a few standout books like Autumn Street (still in my top 10 of all time), Dead Birds Singing, and Save Queen of Sheba. I didn’t really hit more mature reading until college.

I had completely forgotten about this book until our discussion and another member brought it up. So, I went to my local library and somehow they had a copy, complete with an old style checkout card and everything. I took my time and read slowly, given it’s 116 pages, I could have read it in an hour. But even looking at the cover, I was completely taken back to middle school. I must have read this book half a dozen times. And all I remembered with scalping.

It’s not a very politically correct book, but I read it in the 80s in Oklahoma, so I think it wasn’t meant to be for the time period. Indians AKA Native Americans are the bad guys in this book, killing at will, scalping everyone, and the poor innocent white people suffer. The Native American involuntary relocation isn’t really an issue. This book is definitely on the fiction side of historical fiction. But, I enjoyed it nonetheless. King David is a great character, suffering tremendously, doing all he can to stay alive. Queen of Sheba, being a 6 year old, is completely insufferable, but her behavior makes you appreciate KD even more for putting up with her.

This might not be the most spectacular book ever written, but it kept my attention as a kid enough that I wanted to read it multiple times. I’m not even sure if it is still in print, or how hard it is to find, but it would be great for young readers to learn how the world worked long ago.

Leave a Reply

