Music for Torching

I really can’t remember why I bought this book. Someone at some point recommended it to me, I guess. However, this wasn’t one I enjoyed, but only because it isn’t my genre of choice.

I’ve read many dysfunctional family books. More than I can list. And they just aren’t ones I enjoy. I don’t really want to read about unhappy marriages, bratty spoiled kids, or miserable lives. As much as I liked Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex, I despised The Marriage Plot. It took me months to get through because the characters were just so awful. This book felt very much the same, though I did read it quickly because I wanted to see where the characters were headed.

Let me say this, though, if this is a genre you enjoy, you should absolutely read this book. It is beautifully written with several stab you in the heart moments. I’m not going to dwell on this book because I don’t want to turn anyone off if this is one you think you would enjoy, but it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

