Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I’m nothing if not true to my word. I told myself I would get to this book when I finished the 2016 book challenge and The Dark Tower series. If I don’t make myself finish books, I end up putting them off for new and shiny books. And since I had heard less than stellar reviews about this one, I wasn’t really in a hurry to get to it. Ultimately, I enjoyed it and it was nice revisiting the characters.

Since this is a play, it’s very sparse and missing a lot of the magic that the books provide. But I fully expected that going into reading. Somehow, I managed to avoid all spoilers for this book. All I knew was that it took place pretty quickly after book 7 finished. If that’s all you know, too, I would stop reading at this point. I’m not going to reveal tons of stuff, but will address basic plot points.

So, we meet up with the old gang pretty quickly. Ginny, Harry, and their three kids. Ron, Hermione, and their two kids. And Draco and his son. I love that Draco and his son, Scorpio, are central figures to this book. I was always a Draco fan, mostly because he was exactly like Harry- forced into a situation he didn’t want to be in and overshadowed by his father (or lack there of in Harry’s case) and expectations put upon children. And it looks as though neither Draco or Harry has fully resolved their father issues. Neither one of them is a great dad, which was hard to read, given how good of a person Harry is, but it’s also nice to see him still learning about himself and trying to be better. It’s clear that Ginny wears the pants in the family, which is awesome. I always thought she was a good match for Harry and could keep him grounded.

Ron seems to be as lackadaisical as expected. Hermione has succeeded in the wizarding world to the highest position, and Ron manages the Weasley joke shop. He makes some terrible dad jokes and just is very bumbling, although full of love. Seems right on point. The story focuses on Albus, middle child of Harry and Ginny, and Scorpius. They meet early on in the book, after being told to stay away from each other, but they are fast friends. Scorpius is a good kid; nothing like the evil Draco tried to espouse. He has a crush on Rose Granger-Wealsey, Ron and Hermione’s daughter and is just generally a sweet kid.

The Cursed Child named in the title really could apply to many characters. Obviously Harry and Draco, but also Albus, Scorpius, and a character not to be revealed here, because it was a pretty big spoiler. If you are a Harry Potter fan, you really do need to read this just to see what happens to your friends. However, don’t expect to be in love with it the way you are with the books. It’s just not the same reading experience.

Leave a Reply

