December

There are books on my Kindle that I bought at some point and have no idea when or why. I must have read a review or had a book recommended by a friend because I don’t just buy books for no reason. December is this very kind of book. It has been sitting on my Kindle for ages now. When the 2017 book challenge update hit and I needed a book with a month or day of the week in the title, I scrolled through all my unread titles and found this one. And I’m really glad I did.

I read this book in one day. It isn’t terribly long or difficult, and I got completely sucked in by the story. Isabelle hasn’t spoken in 9 months. She is eleven and her parents have no idea why she stopped or what it will take to get her speaking again. And let me just give a warning that there is nothing traumatic in Isabelle’s life to spur this silence, if this is something that is triggery for some. Although the story is third person, we still get Isabelle’s thoughts about her silence. We also get into her parents’ heads and frustrations with their situation. As the story goes on, the more about their lives are revealed. And what you discover is that there is really nothing unusual about them. They are a wealthy family living in NYC and with a country house, and her parents might be a bit obnoxious, they certainly love her and provide for her. Isabelle and her family could be anyone.

I really enjoyed getting to know Isabelle. Her parents, especially her mother, were a bit too much for me, but Belle herself was really interesting. She still communicates by nodding or shaking her head. It isn’t as if she is removed from the world. But her silence is overwhelming. This story was really fascinating from a psychological standpoint.

Leave a Reply

