1984

This is my all time favorite book. I read it years and years ago and knew it was a book to change the mindset of people. There are certain books that are important because they  bring attention to the plight of people. There are certain books that are important because they highlight issues in our society. But very few books can alter the entire perspective of a person. When I read this book originally, I was blown away. Mostly because George Orwell saw our future perfectly. And when I read this book over a decade ago, it scared the crap out of me, but I never really thought I would see these changes take place in my lifetime.

But here we are.

We are in a world where “fake news” and “alternative facts” are readily believed. We are in a world where people no longer believe in modern science. We are in a world where people lead hypocritical lives on a daily basis and are blissfully unaware. We are in a world where we are asked to spy on others, where our Internet history can be used for profit, where the general thought process is looked down upon. We are in 1984. Not to the extreme in the book, but we are headed that direction. Unless we RISE UP and take a stand.

It’s odd to say this is my favorite book, considering it’s the most depressing book I’ve ever read. It’s also the most horrifying, especially today. However, I still love it because it moved me the first time I read it, the second time, and finally this third time. My heart broke every chapter even though I knew exactly where it was all heading.

This is simply the most important book ever written. It is a must read for each and every person.

One thought on “1984

Leave a Reply

